TikTok is nowadays the most used social media app by teenagers. But ever since this social media platform got popular. Advertisers and spammers moved to this app as well. So if someone has been sending you unwanted messages and notifications, you should block such accounts.
We will discuss how to block someone on TikTok first, and after that, we will discuss how you can find if you have been blocked and what happens when someone gets blocked.
Fast Read Content
How to block someone on the TikTok app
If you rather watch a video tutorial then step by step guide, check out the video below this tutorial.
If you want to block someone, follow these exact steps:
- Open TikTok application
- Go to the “Discover” page
- Search for a person that you want to block
- The open profile of that user
- Tap on three dots in the right upper corner
- Tap on the “Block” button
- Tap on the “CONFIRM” button to verify that you want to prevent this person from seeing your information and content on TikTok
Congratulations, you have blocked your first user on the TikTok app. After these measures, this user will no longer be able to interact with your content. They won’t see your videos, and they won’t be able to find you with the Discover function. Unless they log out of the apk, after that, they could see you. Unfortunately, there is nothing that can be done about that. But if this keeps happening to you, you should report that user.
Screenshot by screenshot guide:
If you rather follow a video guide, then we highly suggest this video:
How to unblock somone on TikTok in 3 steps
If you have blocked someone by mistake or you have simply changed your mind. Follow this quick tutorial:
- After you have blocked the person, don’t leave his profile yet
- Tap on the three dots in the right upper corner of the app
- Tap on the “Unblocked” button
- Congratulations you have unblocked your first user on TikTok
Step by step screenshot tutorial:
Frequently Asked Questions
After publishing this article, there were so many follow up emails from you readers that this article had to be edited with the most asked questions surrounding this topic.
What happens if I block someone on TikTok?
Suppose you do such a thing. That person will no longer be able to find you on the app. He won’t be able to comment, like, message you or interact with you in any way! Unless he logs out, he won’t even see your content, unfortunately, if that person creates a new or fake account. He will have access to your profile from that new account.
Can you block someone from commenting on TikTok?
Technically no. But you can do it. If you block a person on TikTok, that person will no longer be able to comment on your profile on TikTok. Unfortunately, you cannot just disable their comments only. If you want to do only that, you can. But if you wish to person to stop commenting on your profile and you won’t mind, that they won’t be able to follow you, then block them, and your problem is solved. They will no longer comment on your content.
How do you find who you blocked on TikTok?
If someone has blocked your profile on TikTok, you won’t receive any notification or email about it. But if you search for that person on the TikTok app, that account won’t show up while you are logged in. You won’t be able to see any of their content or comments. So if you can find an account, ask a friend if he can search and find that account. If your friend can do that and you don’t, you have been clearly blocked by that person. This is how you find out!
- Open TikTok apk
- Go to the “Discover” page
- Search “username” of that person
- if the search provides you no results, you have been blocked by that person
Alternatively. For those of you who have been following a person. And that person might possibly block you. There is an easy 100% working method for you how you can check if you have been blocked.
- Open TikTok
- Go to your profile
- Go to “Following”
- search with their username
- If your search results are empty, you have been blocked!
Other useful guides for TikTok app: