how to delete messages on snapchat

Snapchat messages won’t delete? Learn How to Delete Messages or Whole Chats

Even though almost all Snapchat features are available on other social media apps, Snapchat is still around, probably for the ability to control your privacy and your content as well. Because other social media sites like Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok provide you same features or even more, but the privacy on these apps lacks a bit.

Snapchat won’t delete messages… Has this ever happened to you? If yes, it is very frustrating. Since Snap allows you to control your content after posting it, This is the main reason why so many users still use it. Don’t worry, the same issue has happened to us in the past, and we know how to fix it easily!

Before we show you how there are two different ways how to do this, you can either delete all chats that you ever had on Snapchat, with that, you will erase all your conversations. 

Or you can just delete one or a few messages. Depending on what you want, choose your tutorial. First, we will show you how you can delete a single message, and then we will show you a guide on how to remove all chat messages from your account.

How to delete messages on Snapchat

This comes in handy if you have ever made a typo in chat or if you have sent a text before you have thought about the meaning of the text. If you want to delete one or a few messages, this is the way to go. Here is how you can do this:

  1. Open your Snapchat app
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 1
  2. Go to chats on Snapchat
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 2
  3. Open the conversation where you want to delete message or messages
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 3
  4. Tap and hold on to the message that you would like to erase
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 4
  5. If you have erased messages before, skip this step. If not, tap on the “Okay” button
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 6
  6. After a second pop-up window will show up, tap on “Delete Chat” [it says “delete the chat”, but it will delete only one message]
    how to delete messages on snapchat step 7

If you want to delete more than one message, just follow the tutorial again.

Will the user be notified that message was deleted?

Yes, similarly to Instagram, a person will see in your chat that the message was erased.

How do you permanently delete conversations on Snapchat?

Suppose you want to permanently erase all the conversations that you ever had on Snapchat, you can. Doing with the method shared above would take ages. Unfortunately, no one button would erase all your chats, like clearing cache on Snapchat. But you can quickly delete the whole conversation with just one click. 

In the tutorial below this, we will show you how. Unfortunately, there is no better method than the one that we are going to present to you. You will have to delete all conversations one by one.

How to clear all conversations on Snapchat

  1. Open your Snapchat 
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 1
  2. Tap on your profile photo in the upper left corner
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 2
  3. Tap on the gear button in the upper right corner to open settings
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 3
  4. Scroll down in the menu to “PRIVACY” settings
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 4
  5. Tap on “Clear Conversations”
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 5
  6. Tap on the “X” button next to every profile
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 6
  7. Tap on the “Clear” button to confirm your decision
    how to clear all conversations on snapchat step 7

Once you have tapped on the last “X” button, you have successfully removed every conversation you ever had on Snapchat. Unfortunately, there is no faster method to do this. Also if you don’t want to delete every single conversation, double-check if you are deleting the right one, there is no method to recover erased chats.

What is “clear conversation” on Snapchat?

Clearing conversation on Snapchat means that the whole chat between you and the other user will be permanently erased from Snapchat. Your entire chat with that person will be removed. 

The other user will still have his or her messages in that chat, and all your messages will be replaced with the text “the message was erased.”

Other Snapchat tutorials:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *