Are you no longer using Discord? Then deactivating your account is probably for the best. Maybe you might even think about erasing your whole account. Let’s discuss first what the difference is.
Fast Read Content
What’s the difference between disabling and deleting an account?
If you delete your account, all of your data will be lost. Within 14-30 days, your account will get removed from discord servers. If you don’t reactivate your account within the first two weeks, the account will be gone forever.
On the other hand, if you decide to disable your account. You will be able to restore your account at any time. Think of it as disabling as log out on steroids. After disabling your account, you will still be able to reactive your account and receive friend requests. Other than that, you won’t receive any notifications, and your account should not be easily searchable.
How to Disable your Discord Account on Computer [Mac & PC]
- Open your main browser and log in to Discord
- Go to the left bottom of the screen and click on the “Settings” button
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page, where you should see the “Disable Account” button
- Click on the “Disable Account” button
How to Disable your Discord Account on Phone [Android & iOS]
- Launch Discord application
- On the right bottom corner, tap on your profile
- Go to “My Account”
- Scroll down till you see the “Disable Account” button
- Tap on the “Disable” button
Here is a video tutorial if you rather follow video guide:
Congratulations, your account is now disabled. If you wish to use it again in the future, you need to reactivate your account if you don’t know how to check out this tutorial.
What happens when you disable your discord account?
- Your account will be harder to search for.
- You won’t receive any notifications.
- You will be able to get friend requests. (After you recover your account)
- You will be logged out on all devices from your account.
- You won’t be able to log in before recovering your profile.